New cohort of young people to represent Northern Ireland 14th March 2018

Over 7,000 young people across Northern Ireland have voted in Northern Ireland’s latest election for Members of Youth Parliament. Young people were able to cast their vote and declare which candidate they want to represent them in the UK Youth Parliament for the coming year, and campaign on the issues they feel are important.

Members of Youth Parliament will go on to champion the voices of young people in Northern Ireland, shape UK Youth Parliament policy and campaigns and encourage young people to take part in UK Youth Parliament’s UK-wide consultation ‘Make Your Mark’ this summer.

UK Youth Parliament has previously campaigned on issues such as mental health, racism and religious discrimination, education and transport. This year UK Youth Parliament is focussed on redoubling its efforts on the campaign for a lowering the voting age.

Lewis Addlington-Lee, Deputy Chair of the British Youth Council, the charity which manages UK Youth Parliament, said  “I’m delighted to see a new cohort of young people standing up for the voices of young people within Northern Ireland. Each Member of Youth Parliament now has the opportunity to champion young people’s views both in Westminster and Stormont.

“Congratulations to all the candidates and thank you to all the schools and youth groups who took part in this year’s elections.”

The Acting Returning Officer for this election has declared the following people duly elected Members of Youth Parliament:

Constituency Elected
Belfast East Jodie Floyd
Belfast North uncontested
Belfast South Luke Patterson
Belfast West Cliodhna McCaffrey
East Antrim Alexandra Rosbotham
East Londonderry Anna McElhinney
Fermanagh and South Tyrone Richard Edwards
Foyle James Cooke
Lagan Valley Beth Crane
Mid Ulster Thomas Doris
Newry and Armagh Conor Boyle
North Down uncontested
North Antrim Niesha Kelly
South Antrim Lauren Wilson
South Down Cormac Savage
Strangford Natasha Manganaro
Upper Bann Jay Radcliffe
West Tyrone uncontested

The following Democracy Awards will be given recognising voter turnout:
40 Polling stations registered enabling young people from across Northern Ireland the opportunity to take part in these elections.

  • Gold (70%+ turnout): Downpatrick Scouts, Scouts Youth Forum, 1st Dromore Scouts, Derriaghy Scouts, St Patrick’s Grammar School Downpatrick, Slemish College, Lurgan College, Banbridge Academy
  • Silver (60%+ turnout): Ashfield Boy’s, Ashfield Girl’s High School, St Pius X College, Limavady Grammar School
  • Bronze (50%+ turnout): Abbey CBGS

A full breakdown of the election results is available