Steering Group Elections Information

What does the Steering Group (SG) do?

The UK Youth Parliament Steering Group (the new name for the old Procedures Group) makes the decisions that steer the development of the Youth Parliament programme within the British Youth Council eg. being consulted on and making decisions about  the programme, help create/support a team of youth reps to support the region/nation, planning and helping to run Conventions, working in partnership with staff to organise and facilitate the arrangements for the Annual Conference.

The Steering Group is made up of 1 representative from each nation and region of the UK, who has been elected by their region to represent the views of their MYPs at a UK level. It aims to physically meet 3 times a year including an induction residential (transport costs are provided), whilst discussing and agreeing urgent issues using e-mail, Whatsapp and Facebook.

Who can stand?

Each region and nation (with the exception of Scotland, where the nomination comes from the elected Board of the Scottish Youth Parliament, and Wales where the election has taken place)  will elect one representative to the Steering Group . To stand for the Steering Group, you must:

  • be 18 or under (but at least 16 years old) on the first day of the induction residential (mid February 2020).
  • be a serving MYP or an existing Procedures Group rep. You can only hold the position of SG for two years, and is dependant on re-election.

You should be able to attend the SG meetings and Conventions, as it will be your duty to provide a report at each of the meetings. You must get the permission of your parent/guardian to travel alone to events before standing for election. This is because SG meetings are above the remit of the support of your youth worker or Youth Democracy Coordinator, so they would not be able to accompany you.

How are the Steering Group elected?

Online voting will take place between 13th-19th January. The result will be announced by a special Dispatch Box email on Monday 20th January. Each registered MYP and current Procedure Group member standing for election will get to vote for their preferred candidates.

Timetable for elections

  • Notification of elections  – 16th  December
  • Candidate registration closes 5th January at 11:45pm
  • Online elections go live inc candidate statements 13th January
  • Voting will close at 11:45pm on 19th January
  • Results announced in Dispatch Box: Election Special – 20th January
  • SG Induction Friday 14th – Sunday 16th February, Dearne Valley near Doncaster

Before completing the nomination form below, please read the Steering Group Information Pack

Sorry, nominations closed at 11:45pm on Sunday 5th Jan

Please double check all information is current inc your Region/Nation and LA/Constituency, before submitting meeting. After clicking submit a message will pop up confirming receipt of your nomination (please turn off any pop up blocker), if you do not see this message then your nomination won’t have been received.